Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.

Citizen of the Year

| Print This Page |

Group of people clapping and smiling

Each year the Town of Tillsonburg recognizes an individual who makes an outstanding contribution to the Town of Tillsonburg, with no expectation of personal gain.

Nominations for Citizen of the Year are received on an annual basis. Volunteering of personal time and talent towards the betterment of our community are hallmarks of this award.  Nominees can be recommended either for outstanding contributions to the community in the past year, or over a number of years.

2018 Citizen of the Year Peg Hogarth

Mayor and Peg

Congratulations to Peg Hogarth on being recognized as the 2018 Citizen of the Year.  Check out her biography and list of accomplishments here.


Nomination Process

Nominations can be submitted by completing a Citizen of the Year Nomimation Application

Forms are also available by contacting the Clerk's Office.

All nominations received within the last three years will be re-considered for this year's award.

Evaluation Criteria
The Town's Special Awards Committee will review all nominations, giving consideration to:
  • The length and impact of service
  • The uniqueness of the nominee's efforts
  • The extent to which the nominee supports and involves other people
  • The challenges and/or barriers the nominee has overcome in order to contribute