Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.


| Print This Page |

group portrait of council

Mayor Stephen Molnar
Mayor Stephen Molnar wearing Chain of OfficeStephen Molnar is proud to currently serve the residents of the Town of Tillsonburg in his elected capacity as Mayor and Chief Executive Officer. His passion for the community and its citizens has been demonstrated in an earlier thirteen year term on Council, including seven years as Mayor (2003-2010).

He was born and raised in Tillsonburg and has enjoyed the many community facilities and opportunities that it is now his chosen responsibility to protect and enhance.

Stephen was educated locally and continued his further studies at Wilfrid Laurier University, graduating from the School of Business and Economics in 1982.

Mayor Molnar has historically created a culture of inclusion in our decision making process - an environment that is accessible, accountable and turns issues into opportunities. This involves a committed Council, properly trained team members, passionate volunteers and an engaged community.

Stephen is married to his wife Colleen and enjoys golf, cooking and travelling in the limited spare time he finds available. In his enjoyment to travel and experience other cultures and traditions, Stephen's greatest reward is when he concludes his journey where he started it, back home in the Town of Tillsonburg.

Deputy Mayor Dave Beres

Deputy Mayor Dave BeresDave Beres was first elected to Council in 1994 and presently serves as Deputy Mayor of the Town of Tillsonburg. He has been active in the community, both as a volunteer and a business owner, for more nearly 40 years.                        

He and his wife Debbie have 3 grown children who, with their families, make Tillsonburg their home. 

Dave has served on many boards and committees, including Tillsonburg District Memorial Hospital Board, Tillsonburg Police Services Board and the Tillsonburg Hydro Board of Directors. He is a member of the Tillsonburg District Chamber of Commerce and a long-time member of the Tillsonburg Lions Club. 

Dave Beres recently served as Mayor in 2014.

Councillor Maxwell Adam

Councillor Max AdamMaxwell (Max) Adam grew up in Norfolk County on a tobacco farm. After graduating from Delhi District Secondary School in 2004, Max spent eight years in postsecondary school where he obtained a Bachelor of Physical and Health Education from the University of Toronto, as well as a Master of Arts (School of Kinesiology) and a Bachelor of Education (Faculty of Education) from Queen's University. With over a decade of experience in the food and beverage industry, Max now owns/operates his own establishment--The Kilnyard--in downtown Simcoe; he is also currently managing front-of-house staff at Three-West Trends Bistro.  Max is a proud father of one (Emerson) and he has thoroughly enjoyed the challenges of being a "rookie" councillor.  After playing men's competitive soccer for hometown Tillsonburg FC (Premier Division and Third Division) in the Western Ontario Soccer League (WOSL) over the past two years, he is now a member of the Simcoe Thunder (First Division).  His other hobbies include volunteering, reading/writing, and personal fitness.

Councillor Penny Esseltine

Councillor Penny EsseltinePenny Esseltine was elected to council for first time for the 2014-2018 term. She brings experience as an entrepreneur, manager, and community volunteer and is particularly interested  in our town's heritage, the advancement of local business, balanced municipal representation, and maintaining our community's small-town feel.

Born and raised here, she left for school and work and returned to live in Tillsonburg with her husband Rick and daughter Alexis in the early '90s. Penny has professional work experience in communications, community relations, media production, and small business ownership.

She currently serves on the board of the Tillsonburg Horticultural Society and the Annandale National Historic Site Fundraising Committee. Penny has also worked with the Oxford County Library Board, the Oxford County Federation of Agriculture, the Tillsonburg Lioness Club, the Oxford Community Foundation and the Museum Advisory Board. Other activities she enjoys include gardening, reading and books, movies, some exercise, wine, and time with family and friends.

 Councillor Jim Hayes

Councillor Jim HayesJim Hayes has been a lifelong resident of the area. Jim was raised on a dairy farm north of Tillsonburg where he took over ownership and grew it to a several hundred acre operation.

He was first elected to South West Oxford township council in 1991 where he spent sixteen years, six as councillor, three as deputy mayor, and seven years as mayor from 2003 to 2010. Also Jim served ten years on Oxford County council. Since he retired and moved to Tillsonburg he decided to enter the race and was successful, and is looking forward to his first term serving the residents of Tillsonburg for the next four years. Jim has a busy family life and is a member of the Lions and Knights of Columbus.

 Councillor Chris Rosehart

Councillor Chris RosehartChris Rosehart is a long-time resident of Tillsonburg. She has three grown children, two of which reside in Tillsonburg. She has managed her variety store in Tillsonburg for more than 30 years. 

Chris has served on a number of boards and committees including the Cultural Advisory Committee, Trails Committee, Cemetery Committee and Tillsonburg Non-Profit Housing. She has also been involved with the Tillsonburg Food Bank and the Tillsonburg Tri-County Agricultural Fair.

 Councillor Brian Stephenson

Councillor Brian StephensonBrian Stephenson is a long-time resident of Tillsonburg, married with four grown children. He is a retired elementary school teacher.

Brian is currently on his fourth term of Council and enjoys being a member of Tillsonburg Knights of Columbus, the Cancer Society, the TDMH Board, and the Tillsonburg Curling Club.


Stephen Molnar
204-200 Broadway, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 5A7

T. 519-688-3009 ext 3234
F. 519-842-9431

Dave Beres
Deputy Mayor
204-200 Broadway, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 5A7

T. 519-842-3679

Max Adam
204-200 Broadway, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 5A7

T. 519-872-1339

Penny Esseltine
204-200 Broadway, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 5A7

T. 519-688-3842

Jim Hayes
204-200 Broadway, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 5A7

T. 519-842-9287

Chris Rosehart
204-200 Broadway, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 5A7

T. 519-842-2381